Councillor Karen Buckley (pictured below) has been officially appointed as the new leader of Fylde Council whilst the Deputy Leader will be Councillor Roger Small (pictured below).  These two appointments took place on Monday 20th July at a meeting of the full Fylde Council.

Councillor Buckley paid tribute to her predecessor, Councillor Sue Fazackerley, as Leader, ‘I would like to thank Cllr Fazackerley for her steadfast commitment and dedication to Fylde, particularly during her last six years as Leader.  I look forward to steering the Council through the challenging times ahead post Covid-19 and will welcome her wise counsel as she continues to represent Central Ward.’

The Mayor of Fylde, Councillor Angela Jacques, will continue in office until the Annual Meeting due to be held in May 2021. Legislation and the Council’s constitution normally require the election of a Mayor to take place at the Council’s Annual Meeting. However, government regulations in response to Coronavirus allowed the cancellation of the Annual Meeting and automatically extended the term of office of the existing Mayor for a further year.

There have also been some new appointments to Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs at the meeting which includes the following:

Audit and Standards Committee:  Cllr Ellie Gaunt becomes Vice Chairman.

Environment Health and Housing:  Cllr Thomas Threlfall becomes Chairman and Cllr Jayne Nixon becomes Vice Chairman.

Licencing and Public Protection Committees:  Cllr Shirley Green becomes Chairman and Cllr Gavin Harrison becomes Vice Chairman.

Operational Management:  Cllr John Kirkham becomes Vice Chairman.

Tourism and Leisure:  Cllr Michael Sayward becomes Vice Chairman.